Life Insurance
Consensus Index

AI Consensus Fit Review

Principal Life Term Life Insurance Fit Review for $1 Million in Coverage

Principal Life Term is a good fit for a healthy nonsmoking 40-year-old seeking $1 million of 20-year term coverage, with one important qualification: pricing competitiveness for this exact profile is not publicly verified.

Research: 2026-09-207 usable platform responsesRead the methodology ↗

Share

Answer Capsule

Principal Life Term is a good fit for a healthy nonsmoking 40-year-old seeking $1 million of 20-year term coverage, with one important qualification: pricing competitiveness for this exact profile is not publicly verified. Two of seven platforms named Principal Life Term during the ranking stage, at an average listed rank of 3.5 and a best rank of 3. The strongest reason to consider it is the combination of a direct 20-year term match, a contractual conversion option to permanent coverage, and strong published financial-strength ratings. The main limitation is that no Principal-specific premium for this exact $1 million, age-40, nonsmoker profile was publicly verifiable, and one platform reported the carrier exited the retail individual life market.

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage2 of 7 platforms (deepseek, openai)
Share of included platform responses28.6%
Average listed rank3.5
Best listed rank3
Relevant product/model/planPrincipal Term 20 / Principal Term 20-year convertible term insurance
Overall use-case fitGood, with a pricing and underwriting qualification
Research date2026-09-20

Why Principal Life Term Qualified for This Study

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Principal Life Term a good choice for Term Life Insurance for $1 Million in Coverage?
  • Why did only two of seven AI platforms rank Principal Life Term for a $1 million, 20-year term policy?

Principal Life Term qualified because it directly matches the requested product structure: a 20-year level term policy available at a $1 million face amount, with a convertible version and a financially established issuing carrier. Two of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, at an average listed rank of 3.5 and a best rank of 3. The remaining five platforms evaluated fit but did not name Principal Life Term in their ranking stage, so the mention count is lower than the number of platforms that produced fit research.

The product match is the clearest qualification. Principal Term is available in 10-, 15-, 20-, and 30-year versions, so Principal Term 20 aligns exactly with the buyer's 20-year horizon, and Principal states the product is approved in all states [1]. Principal also announced a term repricing effective May 1, 2026 covering new-issue 10-, 15-, 20-, and 30-year policies, including updated base convertible, base nonconvertible, and Conversion Extension Rider rates [2].

Carrier financial strength is the second qualification. Principal Life and Principal National Life publish A+ (Superior) from AM Best, AA- from Fitch, A1 from Moody's, and A+ from S&P, with stable outlooks [5]. AM Best independently affirmed A+ Superior ratings with stable outlooks for both insurers in April 2026 [7].

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Term Life Insurance for $1 Million in Coverage

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which Principal Life Term plan should a buyer choose for $1 million of 20-year coverage, and does it include a conversion option?
  • Does Principal Term 20 allow a $1 million face amount for a healthy 40-year-old nonsmoker?

The relevant product is Principal Term 20, the 20-year version of Principal Term, in either its convertible or nonconvertible form. All seven platforms converged on this plan for the use case, describing it as Principal Term 20 at a $1,000,000 face amount, with most adding the 20-year convertible term variant (openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, kimi, perplexity, google).

Principal Term 20 is positioned for ages 35-55 with non-tobacco rates available at issue ages 20-65, placing a 40-year-old inside the target band [8]. The product supports $1 million face amounts within a $1 million premium band, with bands set at $200,000 and $1,000,000 [9]. Minimum face amount is $200,000, rising to $1 million for age 66 and older [11].

The convertible version carries a right to convert to a permanent policy. Principal states applicants may select a policy with the right to convert to a permanent policy, and the May 2026 repricing specifically references Base Convertible rates and a Conversion Extension Rider [12]. Standard conversion runs during the first 15 policy years or until attained age 70, whichever is earlier, without re-underwriting and at the same risk class; the optional Conversion Extension Rider extends conversion to the full level premium period or age 70 [14].

One platform reported a material availability conflict. Google reported that Principal fully exited the U.S. retail individual life insurance market after a 2021 strategic review, restricting Principal Term 20 to business-market cases such as key person or buy-sell funding, or group employee benefit channels [16]. Other platforms reported ongoing retail availability through advisors, and 2025-2026 reviews and the May 2026 repricing notice confirm the product is still being issued [19]. This conflict is unresolved in the supplied evidence and is the single most important item for a retail buyer to verify.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions This Section Answers

  • What do AI platforms agree on about Principal Life Term for a $1 million, 20-year term policy?
  • Is Principal Life Term financially strong enough for a $1 million death benefit?

Platforms agreed on four points: product-term match, conversion availability, financial strength, and the absence of verifiable Principal-specific pricing.

On product-term match, the agreement was unanimous across the seven fit responses. Principal Term 20 directly matches the requested 20-year coverage period, and the product is stated to be approved in all states [21].

On conversion, the agreement was strong. Principal Term 20 offers a conversion path to permanent coverage, with a standard window and an optional paid rider that extends it [24]. Conversion is described as available without evidence of insurability at the same risk class, subject to policy provisions [24].

On financial strength, the agreement was unanimous. Principal Life and Principal National Life carry A+ (Superior) from AM Best, AA- from Fitch, A1 from Moody's, and A+ from S&P, with stable outlooks [27], and AM Best independently affirmed A+ Superior for both insurers in April 2026 [29].

On pricing, the agreement was also effectively unanimous: no platform located a Principal-specific premium for this exact profile. OpenAI, anthropic, deepseek, perplexity, and kimi each stated that no Principal quote for a healthy 40-year-old nonsmoker at $1 million, 20-year term was publicly verifiable (openai, anthropic, deepseek, perplexity, kimi).

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Principal Life Term still available to individual retail buyers for a $1 million personal policy?
  • How much does Principal Term 20 cost per month for a healthy 40-year-old nonsmoker?

The largest disagreement concerns retail availability. Google rated the fit weak and reported that Principal exited the individual retail life market after a 2021 strategic review, making the policy unavailable to a standard retail buyer [30]. Grok acknowledged the same 2021 exit reporting but concluded that 2025-2026 reviews and the May 2026 repricing confirm ongoing availability through advisors [33]. The other five platforms treated the product as currently available. This conflict is not resolved by the supplied evidence.

Fit ratings diverged accordingly: good from openai, anthropic, grok, kimi, and perplexity; mixed from deepseek; weak from google.

Pricing evidence was inconsistent in a different way. Grok cited WSJ data showing approximately $41.76 per month for women and $50.56 per month for men for $1 million of 20-year convertible term in excellent health [33]. Anthropic cited a LifeStein figure of $48.18 per month as the lowest available Preferred Plus rate across major carriers including Principal Financial Group [34]. Independent 2026 benchmarks put average premiums for comparable coverage at approximately $86 per month for women and $109 per month for men [35]. These figures describe different health classes and different measurement bases, and none is a Principal-issued quote.

Conversion details also conflicted. Some materials describe conversion through the first 15 policy years or until age 70, while others describe an extension reaching the full level term period or age 70 [39]. The rider's cost is not disclosed in any supplied source (anthropic, perplexity).

Two further uncertainties recur. Accelerated underwriting is described as available to only 45-55% of applicants, with no published criteria for which healthy 40-year-olds qualify [42]. And the issuing entity varies: New York policies are issued by Principal Life Insurance Company, while other states use Principal National Life Insurance Company (anthropic, perplexity).

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Questions This Section Answers

  • What conversion rights does Principal Term 20 include for a buyer who may want permanent coverage later?
  • Does Principal Term 20 offer accelerated underwriting for a healthy 40-year-old seeking $1 million?

Principal Term 20's most use-case-relevant feature is its conversion structure. Standard conversion is available during the first 15 policy years or until attained age 70, whichever is earlier, without re-underwriting and at the same risk class [44]. The optional Conversion Extension Rider, elected at issue for ages 20-54 at additional cost, extends conversion to the full level premium period or age 70 [44]. Partial conversions are allowed if both the remaining term policy and the new permanent policy meet their respective minimums [44].

Underwriting efficiency is the second relevant feature, with a caveat. Principal offers an Accelerated Underwriting program providing up to $1 million without labs or exams for Standard and better risk classes, available to 45-55% of applicants based on age, product, face amount, and personal history [47]. Grok described accelerated no-exam underwriting as available up to $3 million for qualified healthier applicants [49]. Because eligibility is not guaranteed and criteria are not published, a healthy 40-year-old cannot assume qualification.

Riders add flexibility. The Accelerated Benefits Rider is included at no charge and allows access to up to 75% of the death benefit, capped at $1 million, on terminal illness diagnosis [47]. Optional riders include Waiver of Premium, Business Value Increase, and Salary Increase, the latter two allowing coverage increases without evidence of insurability [47]. Google also described Healthy Lifestyle Credits, where wellness checkups, screenings, and biometrics can offset health debits to improve rate class [51].

Policy flexibility includes face amount decreases after policy year 1, with cumulative limits in early years and a $200,000 minimum remaining [47]. Level premiums are guaranteed for the full 20-year initial period, after which the policy renews for successive one-year terms at higher premiums [47].

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Questions This Section Answers

  • How much does Principal Term 20 cost per month for $1 million of coverage, and what fees apply?
  • What happens to Principal Term 20 premiums after the 20-year level period ends?

No Principal-specific premium for this exact buyer profile was publicly verifiable, so pricing confidence is low across every platform that addressed it (openai, anthropic, deepseek, perplexity, kimi). Principal announced new term rates effective May 1, 2026, including separate updates for convertible and nonconvertible versions and a new $3 million-plus rate band, but the public notice does not disclose an individual applicant's premium [53].

Benchmark context is available but is not a Principal quote. Independent 2026 data estimates average $1 million, 20-year term premiums for 40-year-old nonsmokers at approximately $86 per month for women and $109 per month for men [56]. Lower figures appear in other sources: $48.18 per month as the lowest available Preferred Plus rate across major carriers including Principal Financial Group [60], and approximately $41.76 per month for women and $50.56 per month for men in excellent health per WSJ data [61]. These are different health classes and measurement bases, and none is Principal-issued.

Known fees and cost structure:

  • A $75 annual non-commissionable policy fee applies, stated in product specifications [62]. Over 20 years this totals $1,500 before any opportunity cost (anthropic).
  • The Conversion Extension Rider carries an additional charge if elected at issue; the amount is not disclosed in any supplied source (anthropic, perplexity).
  • Optional Waiver of Premium, Business Value Increase, and Salary Increase riders carry costs that are not specified in the supplied sources (anthropic).
  • Application, medical-exam, policy, or agent fees were not identified in the reviewed sources (openai).

Contract terms: level premiums are guaranteed for the full 20-year initial period, and after that period the policy renews for successive one-year terms at higher premiums [62]. Guaranteed renewal premiums after year 20 are not disclosed in the supplied sources. All guarantees depend on the claims-paying ability of the issuing insurer, which is Principal Life Insurance Company for New York policies and Principal National Life Insurance Company elsewhere (anthropic, perplexity).

Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who is Principal Life Term best suited for when buying $1 million of 20-year term coverage?
  • Is Principal Term 20 a good fit for a healthy nonsmoker who wants to lock in future insurability?

Principal Life Term is best suited for a healthy nonsmoking 40-year-old who wants a 20-year level term policy at $1 million and values a contractual path to permanent coverage more than the absolute lowest premium. Platforms consistently placed this buyer inside the product's target band: Principal positions Term 20 for ages 35-55 with non-tobacco rates at issue ages 20-65 [64].

The strongest fit cases from the supplied research:

  • Buyers prioritizing an established carrier with strong published financial-strength ratings (openai, anthropic, grok, kimi).
  • Applicants who value a contractual option to convert term coverage to permanent insurance without re-underwriting at the same risk class [65].
  • Healthy applicants in preferred or super-preferred classes who may qualify for accelerated underwriting and want to avoid labs or exams [67].
  • Buyers comfortable purchasing through an insurance professional rather than a fully transparent direct-to-consumer quote flow (openai).
  • Business owners and executives using term as a bridge before permanent insurance, or for key person and buy-sell funding [69].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who should not choose Principal Life Term for a $1 million, 20-year term policy?
  • Is Principal Term 20 a poor choice for a buyer who wants the lowest verifiable premium?

Principal Life Term is probably not the best fit for buyers whose top priority is the lowest verifiable premium. Multiple platforms reported that independent analyses place other carriers lower for comparable profiles, naming Penn Mutual, Banner Life, Transamerica, Protective, Symetra, and Corebridge among lower-priced examples (anthropic, deepseek, kimi, grok). Kimi reported Penn Mutual at $69 per month for women and $87 per month for men against national averages of $86 and $109 [72].

Other poor-fit situations from the supplied research:

  • Buyers who require a clearly documented accelerated or simplified underwriting process, since eligibility applies to only 45-55% of applicants and criteria are unpublished [73].
  • Buyers who want fully public conversion deadlines, eligible permanent products, and conversion pricing before applying (openai, anthropic, perplexity).
  • Buyers who want the longest standard conversion window without paying extra for a rider, since the standard window ends at year 15 or age 70 [75].
  • Buyers who need a fully digital, instant-issue, no-agent purchase experience (grok, deepseek).
  • Buyers who prioritize extensive living benefits beyond terminal illness, since the included Accelerated Benefits Rider covers terminal illness only [77].
  • Retail individual buyers, if Google's reporting that Principal exited the retail individual life market is correct [78].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions This Section Answers

  • What is a better alternative to Principal Life Term for a buyer who needs the lowest $1 million term premium?
  • When should a buyer choose a no-exam or fully digital carrier instead of Principal Term 20?

Another option may be better in five situations documented in the supplied research.

When price is the primary criterion. Independent 2026 comparison data identifies Banner Life, Transamerica, Penn Mutual, Protective, Symetra, and Corebridge among lower-priced examples for some comparable profiles, though results vary by applicant (openai, deepseek, kimi, grok). Corebridge is described as having the lowest term rates for all ages and smokers in one WSJ review, with convertible coverage through full term up to age 70, but also higher complaint levels [80].

When a fully digital or no-exam experience matters. Ladder Life offers up to $8 million with an exam, or $100,000 to $3 million without one [82]. Haven Life offers term lengths of 10-30 years and coverage up to $3 million, underwritten by MassMutual with an A++ AM Best rating [84].

When living benefits beyond terminal illness matter. Prudential is described as good for chronic conditions, living benefits, and coverage over $500,000 [86].

When a longer standard conversion window matters. Corebridge offers convertible coverage through full term up to age 70, which may exceed Principal's standard 15-year window without the paid rider [80].

When a competing carrier produces a materially lower binding quote for the same $1 million, 20-year term and equivalent underwriting class (openai).

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Questions This Section Answers

  • What should a buyer confirm with Principal Life Term before signing a $1 million term policy?
  • Which Principal entity will issue the policy, and does that change the terms?

The supplied research produced a consistent verification list across platforms. Confirm these items in writing before applying.

  • The guaranteed monthly or annual premium for exactly $1,000,000 of Principal Term 20 coverage for the applicant's state, sex, health class, and nonsmoker status (openai, anthropic, perplexity, kimi).
  • Whether the policy will be issued by Principal Life Insurance Company or Principal National Life Insurance Company, since New York and non-New York policies use different issuing entities (openai, anthropic, perplexity, grok).
  • Whether the product is currently available to individual retail buyers, given the conflicting 2021 exit reporting [89].
  • Whether accelerated or simplified underwriting is available, and the expected application, exam, and decision timelines if it is not (openai, anthropic).
  • The precise conversion deadline, whether the selected policy includes the Conversion Extension Rider, and the rider's specific cost (openai, anthropic, perplexity).
  • Which permanent policies are eligible for conversion, and whether conversion is available without new medical underwriting (openai, anthropic, perplexity).
  • Whether converted premiums are based on attained age, original underwriting class, current tobacco status, or another basis (openai, anthropic).
  • Whether the $75 annual policy fee is level for the full 20-year term or subject to change (anthropic, grok).
  • The guaranteed renewal premiums after year 20 (openai, perplexity, kimi).
  • Any rider premiums, modal billing charges, or other additional costs (openai, anthropic).
  • The underwriting class assumptions behind any quoted rate, and how Principal's risk classes compare to industry standards (anthropic, perplexity).
  • Applicable exclusions, contestability provisions, suicide provisions, aviation or hazardous-activity provisions, and state-specific limitations (openai).

Final AI Consensus Verdict

Principal Life Term is a good fit for a healthy nonsmoking 40-year-old seeking $1 million of 20-year term coverage, with a pricing and availability qualification that the buyer must resolve before purchasing. Five of seven platforms rated the fit good, one rated it mixed, and one rated it weak. The product matches the requested term exactly, offers a conversion path to permanent coverage without re-underwriting, and is backed by strong published financial-strength ratings independently affirmed by AM Best in April 2026.

The qualification is material. No platform located a Principal-specific premium for this exact profile, so competitiveness cannot be verified without an illustration or quote. Independent benchmarks range from roughly $42 to $109 per month depending on health class and measurement basis, and multiple platforms named other carriers as lower-priced for comparable profiles. One platform reported that Principal exited the retail individual life market entirely, which conflicts with other platforms and with the May 2026 repricing notice.

The practical conclusion: keep Principal Term 20 on the shortlist, obtain a written quote for the exact profile, and compare it against at least two other highly rated carriers in the same health class before deciding. Do not treat platform agreement as proof of product quality or price competitiveness.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced from seven AI platform responses to a single prompt: a healthy nonsmoking 40-year-old wants $1 million of term life insurance coverage for 20 years, with competitive premiums, financially established carriers, efficient underwriting, and useful conversion options where available. The prompt asked which life insurance carriers the platforms would recommend and why.

Two of the seven platforms named Principal Life Term during the ranking stage. All seven produced fit research on the entity. The report evaluates Principal Life Term only for this use case and is not a broad company review. Ranking statistics, fit ratings, product names, pricing figures, and verification questions are drawn from the supplied platform responses and their cited sources. The consensus index for this category is available at Term Life Insurance for $1 Million in Coverage, and the broader category directory is at life insurance.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply to this review.

Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date of 2026-09-20. Anthropic reported 2026-08-13; deepseek, google, grok, kimi, openai, and perplexity reported 2026-09-21. These are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Platform mentions count only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery. Five platforms evaluated fit without naming Principal Life Term in their ranking stage, so the 2-of-7 mention count understates the number of platforms that produced fit research.

Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated. Claims without a supporting citation are labeled platform-reported or unverified in the text.

No Principal-specific premium for the exact $1 million, age-40, nonsmoker, 20-year profile was publicly verifiable. Independent benchmark figures describe different health classes and measurement bases and are not Principal quotes.

The retail availability conflict is unresolved. Google reported a full exit from the individual retail life market; grok reported ongoing availability through advisors; the remaining platforms treated the product as available. The supplied evidence does not settle this.

Conversion mechanics are incompletely disclosed. The rider's cost, the eligible permanent product menu, and conversion premium schedules are not stated in the supplied sources, and public documents conflict on the exact conversion window.

Accelerated underwriting eligibility criteria are not published, and the 45-55% applicant figure is platform-reported.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

  • Leverage Term for protection today and tomorrow: https://cdn2.hubspot.net/hubfs/1748227/Term%20Conversion%20Provisions.pdf
  • Credit ratings | Principal Financial Group Inc: https://investors.principal.com/financials/credit-ratings/
  • Official pricing and terms source: https://www.principal.com/
  • Additional AI research evidence91 records
    1. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    2. AI research evidence record openai:c2
    3. AI research evidence record anthropic:c9
    4. AI research evidence record perplexity:c5
    5. AI research evidence record openai:c3
    6. AI research evidence record grok:10
    7. AI research evidence record openai:c4
    8. AI research evidence record anthropic:c1
    9. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    10. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    11. AI research evidence record grok:6
    12. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    13. AI research evidence record openai:c2
    14. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    15. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    16. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    17. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    18. AI research evidence record google:2.1.3
    19. AI research evidence record grok:0
    20. AI research evidence record perplexity:c5
    21. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    22. AI research evidence record anthropic:c1
    23. AI research evidence record perplexity:c7
    24. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    25. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    26. AI research evidence record google:1.2.2
    27. AI research evidence record openai:c3
    28. AI research evidence record grok:10
    29. AI research evidence record openai:c4
    30. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    31. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    32. AI research evidence record google:2.1.3
    33. AI research evidence record grok:0
    34. AI research evidence record anthropic:c4
    35. AI research evidence record openai:c5
    36. AI research evidence record anthropic:c3
    37. AI research evidence record deepseek:c2
    38. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-1m
    39. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    40. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    41. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    42. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    43. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    44. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    45. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    46. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    47. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    48. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    49. AI research evidence record grok:0
    50. AI research evidence record anthropic:c8
    51. AI research evidence record google:1.2.1
    52. AI research evidence record openai:c6
    53. AI research evidence record openai:c2
    54. AI research evidence record anthropic:c9
    55. AI research evidence record perplexity:c5
    56. AI research evidence record openai:c5
    57. AI research evidence record anthropic:c3
    58. AI research evidence record deepseek:c2
    59. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-1m
    60. AI research evidence record anthropic:c4
    61. AI research evidence record grok:0
    62. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    63. AI research evidence record openai:c6
    64. AI research evidence record anthropic:c1
    65. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    66. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    67. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    68. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    69. AI research evidence record deepseek:c1
    70. AI research evidence record kimi:ls-rates
    71. AI research evidence record google:1.3.2
    72. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-1m
    73. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    74. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    75. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    76. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    77. AI research evidence record google:1.2.1
    78. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    79. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    80. AI research evidence record deepseek:c5
    81. AI research evidence record deepseek:c6
    82. AI research evidence record deepseek:c4
    83. AI research evidence record kimi:nw-ladder
    84. AI research evidence record deepseek:c7
    85. AI research evidence record kimi:th-haven
    86. AI research evidence record deepseek:c3
    87. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-pru
    88. AI research evidence record deepseek:c1
    89. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    90. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    91. AI research evidence record grok:0

Independent Sources

Other Sources

  • Additional AI research evidence91 records
    1. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    2. AI research evidence record openai:c2
    3. AI research evidence record anthropic:c9
    4. AI research evidence record perplexity:c5
    5. AI research evidence record openai:c3
    6. AI research evidence record grok:10
    7. AI research evidence record openai:c4
    8. AI research evidence record anthropic:c1
    9. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    10. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    11. AI research evidence record grok:6
    12. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    13. AI research evidence record openai:c2
    14. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    15. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    16. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    17. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    18. AI research evidence record google:2.1.3
    19. AI research evidence record grok:0
    20. AI research evidence record perplexity:c5
    21. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    22. AI research evidence record anthropic:c1
    23. AI research evidence record perplexity:c7
    24. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    25. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    26. AI research evidence record google:1.2.2
    27. AI research evidence record openai:c3
    28. AI research evidence record grok:10
    29. AI research evidence record openai:c4
    30. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    31. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    32. AI research evidence record google:2.1.3
    33. AI research evidence record grok:0
    34. AI research evidence record anthropic:c4
    35. AI research evidence record openai:c5
    36. AI research evidence record anthropic:c3
    37. AI research evidence record deepseek:c2
    38. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-1m
    39. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    40. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    41. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    42. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    43. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    44. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    45. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    46. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    47. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    48. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    49. AI research evidence record grok:0
    50. AI research evidence record anthropic:c8
    51. AI research evidence record google:1.2.1
    52. AI research evidence record openai:c6
    53. AI research evidence record openai:c2
    54. AI research evidence record anthropic:c9
    55. AI research evidence record perplexity:c5
    56. AI research evidence record openai:c5
    57. AI research evidence record anthropic:c3
    58. AI research evidence record deepseek:c2
    59. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-1m
    60. AI research evidence record anthropic:c4
    61. AI research evidence record grok:0
    62. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    63. AI research evidence record openai:c6
    64. AI research evidence record anthropic:c1
    65. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    66. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    67. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    68. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    69. AI research evidence record deepseek:c1
    70. AI research evidence record kimi:ls-rates
    71. AI research evidence record google:1.3.2
    72. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-1m
    73. AI research evidence record anthropic:c2
    74. AI research evidence record anthropic:c6
    75. AI research evidence record anthropic:c7
    76. AI research evidence record perplexity:c14
    77. AI research evidence record google:1.2.1
    78. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    79. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    80. AI research evidence record deepseek:c5
    81. AI research evidence record deepseek:c6
    82. AI research evidence record deepseek:c4
    83. AI research evidence record kimi:nw-ladder
    84. AI research evidence record deepseek:c7
    85. AI research evidence record kimi:th-haven
    86. AI research evidence record deepseek:c3
    87. AI research evidence record kimi:mg-pru
    88. AI research evidence record deepseek:c1
    89. AI research evidence record google:2.2.1
    90. AI research evidence record google:2.2.2
    91. AI research evidence record grok:0

Verify this research

Check when the research was run, which platforms were included, and what supports the findings.

Study date
September 20, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
32
Ranking mentions
2 of 7
Platform share
29%
Final consensus rank
#9

Behind the findings

Platforms in this study

  • ChatGPT
  • Claude
  • DeepSeek
  • Grok
  • Perplexity
  • Kimi
  • Gemini

Source records

20 independent · 11 company-owned · 1 unclear

Evidence support

28 direct · 4 partial

Keep in mind

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Technical verification details

Use this SHA-256 fingerprint to identify the source snapshot associated with this study.

254ba63267d4c561633b62db984226d6220dc788948044cde96cb3818ac60e0d