Life Insurance
Consensus Index

AI Consensus Fit Review

Brighthouse Financial Indexed Universal Life Insurance With Chronic Illness or Long-Term Care Riders Fit Review

Brighthouse Financial is a good fit for this use case, but a narrow one.

Research: 2026-09-207 usable platform responsesRead the methodology ↗

Share

Answer Capsule

Brighthouse Financial is a good fit for this use case, but a narrow one. Two of the seven platforms in the ranking stage named Brighthouse Financial, and six of the seven returned a usable fit assessment. The strongest reason to consider it is Brighthouse SmartCare itself: an indexed universal life policy with long-term-care benefits paid through riders, which matches the requested IUL-plus-living-benefits structure more directly than a conventional IUL with an add-on chronic-illness rider. The main limitation is that SmartCare is not stand-alone long-term-care insurance. LTC payments reduce the death benefit dollar for dollar, no public premium schedule exists, availability varies by state, and Brighthouse's AM Best A rating was under review with negative implications in July 2026.

Research Snapshot

FieldFinding
Platform mentions in ranking stage2 of 7 platforms (kimi, perplexity)
Share of included platform responses28.6%
Average listed rank7.5
Best listed rank7 (kimi)
Relevant product/model/planBrighthouse SmartCare
Overall use-case fitGood (5 platforms), Mixed (1 platform)
Research date2026-09-20

Why Brighthouse Financial Qualified for This Study

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Brighthouse Financial a good choice for Indexed Universal Life Insurance With Chronic Illness or Long-Term Care Riders?
  • Why did only two of seven AI platforms name Brighthouse Financial in the ranking stage?

Brighthouse Financial qualified because it sells a product that matches the requested structure, not because it dominated the ranking stage. Only two of seven platforms named the carrier during ranking discovery, and its average listed rank was 7.5, with a best rank of 7 (kimi) and a rank of 8 (perplexity). That is a low placement relative to the field, and it should be read as a signal about breadth of recommendation rather than about product quality.

The qualification rests on product specificity. Brighthouse SmartCare is described in company materials as an indexed universal life insurance policy with long-term-care benefits provided through riders [1]. That is a direct structural match for a buyer who wants permanent indexed coverage plus living-benefit access, rather than a conventional IUL with a separate chronic-illness rider bolted on.

Six of the seven included platforms returned a usable fit assessment. Five rated the fit "good" and one rated it "mixed." That is a majority, not a consensus, and platform agreement does not establish product quality.

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Indexed Universal Life Insurance With Chronic Illness or Long-Term Care Riders

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which Brighthouse Financial product should a buyer choose for indexed universal life with long-term-care or chronic-illness riders?
  • Does Brighthouse SmartCare pay long-term-care benefits as cash indemnity or reimbursement?

Brighthouse SmartCare is the only product in the supplied research that maps to this use case. Every platform that named a relevant plan named SmartCare [5].

SmartCare is an indexed universal life policy with long-term-care benefits delivered through riders, including a Long-Term Care Acceleration of Death Benefit Rider and an Extension of Benefits Rider [11]. The policy provides a guaranteed death benefit and cash value that is protected from market loss when the indexed option is selected [13]. Cash value can be linked to indices such as the S&P 500, Russell 2000, or MSCI EAFE, or grow at a fixed rate [14].

The LTC benefit trigger is a chronic-illness definition: the insured requires substantial assistance with at least two of six activities of daily living, or requires supervision due to cognitive impairment, certified by a physician and paired with a physician-prescribed plan of care [15]. Covered services include adult day care, assisted living care, hospice care, skilled nursing care, intermediate or custodial care in a facility, and home health care [18].

One point of genuine disagreement: several platforms describe the LTC benefit as cash indemnity, meaning the full monthly maximum is paid without receipts [20], while kimi reported that available materials did not specify whether benefits are indemnity, reimbursement, or hybrid. Buyers should confirm this in the issued contract.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions This Section Answers

  • What do AI platforms agree on about Brighthouse SmartCare for chronic-illness and long-term-care riders?
  • Does Brighthouse SmartCare reduce the death benefit when long-term-care benefits are paid?

The strongest area of agreement is structural: SmartCare is an IUL with LTC riders, and it is a hybrid rather than stand-alone LTC coverage. OpenAI, Anthropic, Grok, Perplexity, and Kimi all describe it that way [22].

The second area of agreement is the death-benefit tradeoff. Multiple platforms state that benefits paid under the Long-Term Care Acceleration of Death Benefit Rider reduce the death benefit dollar for dollar, with other policy values reducing proportionately [27]. This is a material limitation, not a footnote.

The third area is the 90-day elimination period. Company and third-party materials state that LTC benefits do not begin until the chronically ill insured has received qualified long-term-care services for 90 calendar days [31].

The fourth is distribution. Brighthouse does not sell SmartCare direct-to-consumer; policies are purchased through licensed financial professionals, and there are no online quotes or direct online applications [34].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Brighthouse SmartCare's long-term-care benefit growth adequate for inflation over a 20-year horizon?
  • How strong is Brighthouse Financial's financial-strength rating for a long-duration SmartCare policy?

The sharpest disagreement concerns LTC benefit growth. Kimi rated the fit "mixed" and reported that the Level LTC option shows zero benefit growth: an illustrated $421,681 initial LTC benefit remained unchanged after 20 years, which Kimi characterized as severe inflation exposure relative to competitors offering indexed growth or 5% compound inflation riders [35]. Other platforms describe four LTC growth paths — indexed, level, 3% compound, and 5% compound — added or expanded in July 2024 [36]. These accounts are not necessarily contradictory, but they point to different product configurations, and buyers should confirm which growth options are actually available in their state and policy form.

Financial strength is the second uncertainty. Brighthouse reports an AM Best A financial-strength rating for its operating companies as of March 2026 [40]. AM Best reported on July 29, 2026 that Brighthouse Life Insurance Company and affiliates remained under review with negative implications for that A rating [41]. Independent reviews describe the rating as A (Excellent) [42], but the review status is the more current fact and should not be smoothed over.

Pricing transparency is a third gap. No platform found a verified public premium. OpenAI, Anthropic, DeepSeek, Grok, and Perplexity all reported low pricing confidence, and Kimi reported moderate confidence based on a single illustrated scenario [43].

A fourth conflict concerns product classification. DeepSeek reported that whether SmartCare offers indexed interest crediting strategies at all was unclear from the public overview it checked, and treated the product as a universal life policy with an LTC rider rather than a clearly indexed design [45]. Every other platform that assessed the product described it as indexed universal life. DeepSeek's research ran without search enabled and is dated 2026-01-15, which is earlier than the other platforms' 2026-09-21 responses.

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Questions This Section Answers

  • What long-term-care features does Brighthouse SmartCare offer a buyer who wants chronic-illness rider access?
  • How much of the SmartCare face amount can be accessed for long-term-care benefits?

SmartCare's core use-case features are the LTC acceleration and extension riders, the chronic-illness trigger definition, the cash-indemnity payment structure, and the growth options applied to the LTC benefit pool.

On access, Grok reported that up to 98% of the face amount can be accessed for LTC benefits, with monthly cash indemnity payments over a total benefit period of 4 or 6 years [48]. Perplexity cited an independent summary reporting the same 98% figure [49]. Kimi's illustrated example used a 6-year benefit period [50]. Benefit period availability is one of the areas where sources conflict: some cite 4-year and 6-year options, while older sources mention 2-year and other variations.

On premium relief during a claim, multiple sources state that required premiums and annual charges are waived once LTC benefits begin [51]. SmartCare also includes a Lapse Prevention Benefit that keeps the policy in force as long as required premiums are paid [53].

On international coverage, one independent source states that Brighthouse offers 100% international coverage [54]. Grok's assessment was narrower, noting that care must generally involve a U.S.-based physician plan [55]. This is a conflict buyers should resolve at the contract level.

On 2024 enhancements, Brighthouse announced a 3% compound LTC growth option and two no-additional-charge return-of-premium riders for new policies [56]. The return-of-premium surrender benefit is described as a minimum of 75% of premiums paid upon surrender, less policy loans and LTC payments [56].

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Questions This Section Answers

  • How much does Brighthouse SmartCare cost per month, and are there setup or cancellation fees?
  • What policy charges reduce SmartCare cash value and death benefit over time?

No verified public premium exists for SmartCare. Every platform that assessed pricing reported that premiums are illustration-based and depend on age, health, benefit amount, growth option, payment schedule, and state [59].

Known cost components include a percentage-of-premium charge, annual deductions, cost-of-insurance charges, administrative charges, and rider charges, with amounts depending on the policy and elected benefits [59]. Rider charges are deducted from policy value and fund the selected rider benefits [59]. Optional riders such as inflation protection and a Guaranteed Distribution Rider carry additional cost that is not publicly disclosed [60].

Payment structures include single premium or annual payments over 2 to 5 years, with a 10-year option on some variants [60]. Kimi's illustrated example used a $100,000 single premium producing a $421,681 initial LTC benefit, a $143,429 death benefit, and $70,000 initial cash value, with no ongoing premiums required in that structure [64]. That is one illustration, not a price schedule.

Surrender is available for cash surrender value and may be taxable to the extent of gain [59]. Policy loans are available after issue, and additional premiums may be needed to retain the Lapse Prevention Benefit if a loan is taken [60]. Partial withdrawals are not allowed according to one platform's reading [60]. No verified public surrender-charge schedule was found in the sources reviewed [63].

Indexed crediting terms are not guaranteed. One platform reported a non-guaranteed 9.5% cap rate with a 0% guaranteed floor, and noted that cap rates are subject to change and may decline [64]. Grok reported a 3.25% fixed account crediting rate and an S&P 500 cap of 9.50% as of early 2025 rates [62]. These figures are platform-reported and time-stamped; current rates require verification.

Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who gets the most value from Brighthouse SmartCare for indexed universal life with long-term-care riders?
  • What buyer profile fits Brighthouse SmartCare's hybrid IUL and LTC structure best?

SmartCare best suits buyers who specifically want a hybrid permanent life and LTC design rather than stand-alone LTC insurance [65]. That includes buyers who value a guaranteed death benefit if LTC benefits are never used, subject to premium and policy-in-force requirements [65].

It also suits buyers who prioritize cash-indemnity LTC benefits over reimbursement-only models, if the indemnity structure is confirmed in the issued contract [67]. Buyers who want indexed growth potential with a floor against market loss fit the indexed-account design [70].

Platforms converge on an age range of 40 to 75 for eligibility, with face amounts up to $1,000,000 [71]. Buyers comfortable purchasing through a licensed financial professional and reviewing an individualized illustration are the intended distribution channel [65].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Questions This Section Answers

  • Who should not choose Brighthouse SmartCare for indexed universal life with long-term-care riders?
  • Is Brighthouse SmartCare a good fit for a buyer who wants stand-alone long-term-care insurance?

Buyers seeking the lowest-cost way to obtain a large death benefit should look elsewhere [73]. Buyers who want stand-alone LTC insurance, New York Partnership qualification, or fully transparent public pricing are also poor fits [73].

SmartCare is not a health insurance policy subject to New York's minimum LTC requirements, does not qualify for the New York State Partnership for Long-Term Care Program, and is not Medicare supplement insurance [74]. It is also not available in California, and product and rider availability vary by state [75].

Buyers who want guaranteed growth or a fixed-rate return and are uncomfortable with indexed mechanics should compare fixed alternatives [77]. Buyers who need immediate online quotes or direct-to-consumer purchase cannot buy this product that way [78]. Buyers who want the death benefit to remain completely intact while LTC benefits are paid should recognize that acceleration reduces the death benefit dollar for dollar [79].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions This Section Answers

  • What is a better alternative to Brighthouse SmartCare for a buyer who needs long-term-care benefits that do not reduce the death benefit?
  • When would a stand-alone long-term-care policy or a conventional IUL be better than Brighthouse SmartCare?

A stand-alone LTC policy may be better when the buyer wants dedicated LTC benefits that do not directly reduce a life-insurance death benefit [81]. A conventional IUL without LTC riders may be better when permanent death-benefit and cash-value objectives dominate and living benefits are secondary [81].

A guaranteed universal-life policy may be better when the buyer primarily wants predictable lifetime death-benefit protection rather than indexed cash-value potential [81]. Another carrier may be better when it offers stronger current financial-strength ratings, more favorable rider definitions, better state availability, or clearer guaranteed and illustrated values [81].

Kimi specifically flagged John Hancock LifeCare as offering a 5% compound inflation rider, three indexed accounts with an Annual Benefit Lock Guarantee, and cash indemnity up to the IRS per diem limit or reimbursement, and flagged Mutual of Omaha as offering a built-in chronic illness rider at no additional cost with an actuarial discount only if used [83]. Those comparisons come from a single platform and from carrier-owned materials.

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Questions This Section Answers

  • What should a buyer confirm with Brighthouse Financial before signing a SmartCare contract?
  • Which SmartCare terms vary by state, issue date, and policy form?

Confirm the exact policy and rider forms available in your state, and which legal entity issues the policy [86]. Confirm the premium schedule required to keep both the guaranteed death benefit and the LTC benefits in force [86].

Confirm the guaranteed values, non-guaranteed illustrated values, caps, participation rates, spreads, and index-account rules, and whether those can change after issue [86]. Confirm the total LTC benefit pool, monthly or annual payment limit, benefit-duration limit, and whether an inflation or growth feature applies [86].

Confirm whether the rider requires receipts, provider certification, a physician's plan of care, or specific qualifying activities of daily living [86]. Confirm exactly how LTC payments, terminal-illness benefits, policy loans, withdrawals, and surrender affect death benefit, cash value, and rider termination — including whether electing the terminal illness benefit permanently ends all LTC riders [91].

Confirm all premium, administrative, cost-of-insurance, index, and rider charges at your proposed issue age and funding level, and whether the policy becomes a modified endowment contract under your premium schedule [86]. Confirm current AM Best, Fitch, Moody's, and S&P ratings for the issuing entity, including the status of the AM Best review [92].

Final AI Consensus Verdict

Brighthouse Financial is a good fit for this use case, with meaningful caveats. Five of six assessing platforms rated the fit "good" and one rated it "mixed." SmartCare is the product that matches the request: an indexed universal life policy with long-term-care riders, a chronic-illness trigger based on two-of-six ADL impairment or cognitive impairment, and cash-indemnity benefit payments if the contract confirms that structure.

The limitations are real and should drive the decision. LTC benefits reduce the death benefit dollar for dollar. There is a 90-day elimination period. The product is not available in California and does not qualify for the New York Partnership program. No public premium exists, so affordability cannot be compared without a personalized illustration. Brighthouse's AM Best A rating was under review with negative implications as of July 29, 2026. One platform rated the fit "mixed" specifically because the Level LTC option shows no benefit growth over time.

A buyer should not treat SmartCare as a substitute for stand-alone LTC insurance or as a low-cost IUL. A personalized illustration and a side-by-side comparison with at least one stand-alone LTC or linked-benefit alternative are necessary before purchase.

How This Review Was Produced

This review aggregates fit assessments from seven AI platforms asked which life insurance carriers they would recommend for a consumer who wants indexed universal life insurance with optional chronic-illness, long-term-care, or similar living-benefit riders. Two platforms named Brighthouse Financial during ranking discovery, and six returned a usable fit assessment. The study date is 2026-09-20.

Platform responses were treated as platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations in the supplied research, so company claims about SmartCare features should not be read as independently confirmed. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated at the writing stage.

Methodology Limitations

Six of seven included platforms returned a usable fit assessment, so the fit findings are a majority view, not a unanimous one. Platform mentions in the ranking stage count only platforms that named Brighthouse Financial during ranking discovery, which was two of seven.

Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. Five platforms reported 2026-09-21, and DeepSeek reported 2026-01-15 with search disabled, which means its findings are older and were not retrieved from live sources. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

The deterministic identity audit noted that official-site retrieval failed for Brighthouse Financial, that one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand-name or site-identity metadata, and that identity matching used an exact-name fallback. The reported domain was retained for downstream research but remains unverified.

Conflicting product details — benefit periods, growth options, indemnity versus reimbursement structure, international coverage scope, and rider percentages — were not resolved by guessing. Buyers should verify each at the contract level.

See the broader Indexed Universal Life Insurance With Chronic Illness or Long-Term Care Riders consensus index for comparisons across qualified options.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Other Sources

  • Additional AI research evidence93 records
    1. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    2. AI research evidence record anthropic:2-1
    3. AI research evidence record grok:0
    4. AI research evidence record perplexity:c4
    5. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    6. AI research evidence record anthropic:2-1
    7. AI research evidence record grok:0
    8. AI research evidence record perplexity:c4
    9. AI research evidence record deepseek:c1
    10. AI research evidence record kimi:brighthouse_smartcare_level
    11. AI research evidence record grok:1
    12. AI research evidence record anthropic:2-11
    13. AI research evidence record anthropic:28-1
    14. AI research evidence record anthropic:22-9
    15. AI research evidence record anthropic:38-1
    16. AI research evidence record anthropic:42-4
    17. AI research evidence record anthropic:37-1
    18. AI research evidence record anthropic:6-8
    19. AI research evidence record anthropic:39-8
    20. AI research evidence record anthropic:36-2
    21. AI research evidence record anthropic:40-9
    22. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    23. AI research evidence record anthropic:2-1
    24. AI research evidence record grok:0
    25. AI research evidence record perplexity:c4
    26. AI research evidence record kimi:brighthouse_smartcare_level
    27. AI research evidence record anthropic:2-11
    28. AI research evidence record anthropic:11-9
    29. AI research evidence record openai:c2
    30. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    31. AI research evidence record anthropic:42-5
    32. AI research evidence record anthropic:36-8
    33. AI research evidence record perplexity:c1
    34. AI research evidence record anthropic:20-4
    35. AI research evidence record kimi:brighthouse_smartcare_level
    36. AI research evidence record anthropic:13-11
    37. AI research evidence record anthropic:16-6
    38. AI research evidence record grok:6
    39. AI research evidence record perplexity:c7
    40. AI research evidence record openai:c4
    41. AI research evidence record openai:c5
    42. AI research evidence record anthropic:20-1
    43. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    44. AI research evidence record anthropic:1-1
    45. AI research evidence record deepseek:c1
    46. AI research evidence record grok:2
    47. AI research evidence record perplexity:c4
    48. AI research evidence record grok:1
    49. AI research evidence record perplexity:c2
    50. AI research evidence record kimi:brighthouse_smartcare_level
    51. AI research evidence record anthropic:9-4
    52. AI research evidence record anthropic:14-2
    53. AI research evidence record anthropic:1-1
    54. AI research evidence record anthropic:41-5
    55. AI research evidence record grok:0
    56. AI research evidence record anthropic:13-11
    57. AI research evidence record anthropic:10-2
    58. AI research evidence record perplexity:c7
    59. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    60. AI research evidence record anthropic:1-1
    61. AI research evidence record deepseek:c1
    62. AI research evidence record grok:2
    63. AI research evidence record perplexity:c4
    64. AI research evidence record kimi:brighthouse_smartcare_level
    65. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    66. AI research evidence record anthropic:28-1
    67. AI research evidence record anthropic:36-2
    68. AI research evidence record anthropic:40-9
    69. AI research evidence record grok:1
    70. AI research evidence record anthropic:22-9
    71. AI research evidence record anthropic:8-3
    72. AI research evidence record anthropic:20-4
    73. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    74. AI research evidence record anthropic:3-6
    75. AI research evidence record anthropic:15-2
    76. AI research evidence record anthropic:29-2
    77. AI research evidence record anthropic:1-1
    78. AI research evidence record anthropic:20-4
    79. AI research evidence record anthropic:2-11
    80. AI research evidence record anthropic:11-9
    81. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    82. AI research evidence record perplexity:c4
    83. AI research evidence record kimi:jh_lifecare_producer
    84. AI research evidence record kimi:jh_lifecare_consumer
    85. AI research evidence record kimi:mutual_omaha_chronic
    86. AI research evidence record openai:c1
    87. AI research evidence record perplexity:c4
    88. AI research evidence record anthropic:1-1
    89. AI research evidence record kimi:brighthouse_smartcare_level
    90. AI research evidence record anthropic:42-4
    91. AI research evidence record anthropic:2-14
    92. AI research evidence record openai:c4
    93. AI research evidence record openai:c5

Verify this research

Check when the research was run, which platforms were included, and what supports the findings.

Study date
September 20, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
35
Ranking mentions
2 of 7
Platform share
29%
Final consensus rank
#10

Behind the findings

Platforms in this study

  • ChatGPT
  • Claude
  • DeepSeek
  • Grok
  • Perplexity
  • Kimi
  • Gemini

Source records

14 independent · 18 company-owned · 3 unclear

Evidence support

30 direct · 5 partial

Keep in mind

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Technical verification details

Use this SHA-256 fingerprint to identify the source snapshot associated with this study.

e88cdb555fb992d2531e15479b83cd2ba9a5bcf199edfc4b57c375397bd682cb